Local Reaction to Finchem on Rules 0 32

From Sun Country Amateur Golf Association rules official Joe Sholtis, who officiates USGA qualifiers in New Mexico-West Texas. on Tim Finchem's announcement there may be rules changes ahead on wrong-scorecard DQs:

I wasn't aware that Tim Finchem had had such an interaction with the USGA.  Nevertheless, I personally don't think such a suggestion will have much traction within the USGA Rules Committee.  Instead, I think the USGA is going to seriously discuss conditions/situations that can trigger a DQ.

Specifically, when a player signs his scorecard and then facts subsequently arise (which the player was not aware of) that substantiate a penalty on a hole, i.e., the USGA, I think, is going to discuss situations to prevent a player from being DQ'd as a result of signing for a score lower than he actually shot on a hole, when/because the player was unaware of fact(s) that substantiate/require assessment of a penalty on that hole.

These are my personal views, and should be qualified as such.  We'll see what transpires between now and 1 January 2012 when the next rules changes will be put in place.

The following two tabs change content below.
Dan Vukelich, former editor of ABQ Free Press and Sun Country Golf magazine, is editor of NewMexicoGolfNews.com. He is a member of the Golf Writers Association of America and the Golf Travel Writers of America. Reach him at dan@newmexicogolfnews.com

Latest posts by newmexicogolfnews (see all)

Previous ArticleNext Article
Dan Vukelich, former editor of ABQ Free Press and Sun Country Golf magazine, is editor of NewMexicoGolfNews.com. He is a member of the Golf Writers Association of America and the Golf Travel Writers of America. Reach him at dan@newmexicogolfnews.com

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: