World Golf Hall of Fame Finalists 0

Susie Berning, World Golf Hall of Fame finalist

WGHOF Inductees Announced

Updated Oct. 10, 2018: Retief Goosen, Jan Stephenson, Billy Payne, Peggy Kirk Bell and Dennis Walters were announced as World Golf Hall of Famers. None of the three finalists in the Veterans category garnered the required 12 of 16 votes to be inducted this year.)

Retief Goosen, World Golf Hall of Fame finalist
Retief Goosen
Jan Stephenson, World Golf Hall of Fame finalist
Jan Stephenson

The World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum near St. Augustine, Fla., has named 15 finalists who will be considered for enshrinement in 2019.

The list of finalists includes men and women representing four different countries, and consists of candidates from the following four categories: Male Competitor, Female Competitor, Lifetime Achievement and Veterans.

Peggy Kirk Bell, Wold Golf Hall of Fame finalist
Peggy Kirk Bell

The inductees into the World Golf Hall of Fame will be decided on Oct. 10 and

enshrinement will occur on June 10, 2019, the Monday before the U.S. Open at Pebble Beach Golf Links.


Here’s the list by category

Billy Payne

of finalists for the 2019 class of the World Golf Hall of Fame (New Mexico Golf News picks are highlighted in bold):

Male Competitor (4)
Retief Goosen, South Africa
Graham Marsh, Australia
Corey Pavin, United States

Hal Sutton, United States

World Golf Hall of Fame inductee Dennis Walters
Dennis Walters

Female Competitor (5)
Susie Maxwell Berning, United States
Beverly Hanson, United States
Sandra Palmer, United States
Dottie Pepper, United States
Jan Stephenson, Australia

Lifetime Achievement (3)
Peggy Kirk Bell, United States
Billy Payne, United States
Dennis Walters, United States

Veterans (3)
Jim Ferrier, Australia
Catherine Lacoste, France
Calvin Peete, United States

Click here to download a bio and list of accomplishments for each finalist.

Who Decides Who Gets into the World Golf Hall of Fame?

The list of finalists was decided by an initial selection subcommittee of 20 people, including six World Golf Hall of Fame members: Donna Caponi Byrnes, Juli Inkster, Hale Irwin, Nick Price, Curtis Strange and Karrie Webb.

Another committee of 16 people co-chaired by World Golf Hall of Fame members Nancy Lopez, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player and Annika Sorenstam will vote on the 15 finalists. Each finalist needs the votes of at least 12 of the 16 committee members to be inducted.

All living Hall of Fame Members also provided personal input to the selection committee.

To learn more about the World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum and the Induction process, visit


Previous ArticleNext Article
Dan Vukelich, former editor of ABQ Free Press and Sun Country Golf magazine, is editor of He's a member of the Golf Writers Association of America and the Golf Travel Writers of America. Reach him at

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.