USGA Lightens Penalty for Innocent Scorecard Errors 0

(AUGUSTA, Ga.) April 7, 2011 — The USGA and R&A eased the penalty for an innocent Padraig Harrington-style scorecard error — downgrading it from a DQ to a two-stroke penalty, the Augusta Chronicle reported.

The ruling amended Decisions of the “Decisions on the Rules of Golf” Decision 33-7/4.5 to account for situations like Harrington’s, in which a viewer with an HDTV saw that his ball had moved slightly after he re-marked it —  something Harrington hadn’t seen before turning in his card at the Abu Dhabi Championship in January.

Elsewhere at Augusta: In-your-face golf commentator Jim Gray is among the missing at Augusta this year.  “No, here’s not part of our crew this week,” a Golf Channel spokesman told  USA Today. For earlier coverage click here.

Previous ArticleNext Article
Dan Vukelich, former editor of ABQ Free Press and Sun Country Golf magazine, is editor of He's a member of the Golf Writers Association of America and the Golf Travel Writers of America. Reach him at

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.